Skip to main contentIBM Quantum Administration

Manage groups


Add, remove, and configure groups

From the administration dashboard, click the Groups tab to view all groups in the hub and manage group details, backends, projects, and administrators.

Important

Do not include personal information in hub, group, or project details.

Note

If you remove a group or project, it is no longer listed on IBM Quantum™ Platform. As a result, users can no longer select any related instances on IBM Quantum Platform, and thus cannot view job data for those instances.

Create a new group

You can create up to 750 groups per hub. Follow these steps to create a new group:

  1. Click New Group and enter a title for your new group on the Edit details tab. The name is used to connect to the hub in Qiskit®. It is auto-generated, but editable. You can also add a description of the group if desired, then click Next.

  2. On the Manage backends tab, select the backends that you want to assign to the group. You can choose from both quantum system backends and simulator backends.

  3. Customize the backend settings and then click Add backend.

    • Depending on the hub configuration, you might be able to customize whether a backend has the maximum number of qubits or channels allowed per pulse gate, define the number of hours of priority time per month the backend can access, and assign the relative share of the hub resources. See Configure backends for detailed descriptions of these settings.
  4. After you finish allocating backends, click Next and optionally add group administrators.

    • Group administrators can create projects and manage members and backends within them.

Delete a group

If you are a hub or group administrator, you can remove groups from a hub.

  1. On the Groups tab of your hub, scroll to the group that you want to delete.
  2. Click the group’s trash icon and then confirm that you want to delete the group and its associated projects.
Note

If you remove a group or project, it is no longer listed on IBM Quantum Platform. As a result, users can no longer select any related instances on IBM Quantum Platform, and thus cannot view job data for those instances.


Add a project to a group

  1. Within the Group tab, expand the group you want to add the project to, then click Add project. You can add up to 100 projects to each group.

  2. Name your project, add any details to the project description, specify the project share, then click Next.

    • A system name will auto-generate in the field below the Title field, but you can edit this if desired.
    • The project’s share helps determine job priority. Priority of jobs in the queue is determined globally and is based on the usage of all systems (not on individual backends). See Fair-share queuing and What is a queue slot (share)? for more information.
  3. Choose a backend for your project from the list of backends available to your group.

  4. Customize the backend settings, then click Add backend. Continue adding backends as desired.

    • Depending on the parent group configuration, you might be able to customize the maximum number of qubits or channels allowed per pulse gate, and define the number of hours of priority time per month for the backend. See Configure backends for detailed descriptions of these settings.
  5. After you finish allocating backends, click Next and then add Collaborators to your project. Collaborators can submit jobs to the project but can’t make any administrative changes.

Note

Administrators and collaborators are separate roles. If administrators want to send jobs to backends via the project, they must also be added as project collaborators.

Click a project to see the project landing page and to manage projects.


Change group settings

You can change the following from the group settings:

  • Edit the group’s title and description
  • Change the group’s share
  • Add or remove backends
  • Set project shares
  • Add or remove group administrators
Note

A backend must be added to a group before it can be used in a project.

Change the group’s share

You can change the group’s share on the Group details tab.

The group’s share helps determine job priority. Priority of jobs in the queue is determined globally and is based on the usage of all systems (not on individual backends). See Fair-share queuing and What is a queue slot (share)? for more information.

Work with group backends

Note

To add backends to a project, see Project Page: Backends. Only backends already in a project’s parent group can be added to a project.

  1. On the Groups tab, scroll to the appropriate group and click its settings icon (settings).

  2. Click the Backends tab.

  3. Add or remove backends.

    • Add: Select backends to add to your group from the list of available backends, then click Add.
    • Remove: Delete a backend assigned to your group by clicking its trash icon.
  4. Edit backend settings. Click a backend’s pencil icon to view and change settings, then click Save.

  5. Click Update, then close the window.

Set project shares

The project’s share influences how your jobs travel through the queue. For more information about sharing, see the Fair-share queuing topic.

  1. On the Groups tab, scroll to the appropriate group and click its settings icon (settings).
  2. Click the Project shares tab.
  3. Click the pencil icon by any project to change its share of group resources.
  4. Click Update, then close the window.

Edit administrators

Add or remove group administrators on the group settings page. If administrators want to send jobs to backends via a project, they must also be added as project collaborators.

  1. On the Groups tab, scroll to the appropriate group and click its settings icon (settings).
  2. Click the Edit admins tab.
  3. To add a new administrator, enter an email address, then click Add.
  4. To remove an administrator, click the trash can by the email address.
  5. Click Update, then close the window.
Was this page helpful?